close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

A Pioneer Christmas: Traditions Across America

Tames Alan presents a costumed, living history lecture!

2018-12-15 13:00:00 2018-12-15 14:30:00 America/Los_Angeles A Pioneer Christmas: Traditions Across America Milton/Edgewood

Saturday, December 15
1:00pm - 2:30pm

Add to Calendar 2018-12-15 13:00:00 2018-12-15 14:30:00 America/Los_Angeles A Pioneer Christmas: Traditions Across America Milton/Edgewood

Tames shows how the holiday was celebrated by an upper-middle-class family on the east coast, a homesteading town in the Midwest, and those who tried to keep their traditions alive out on the prairie.

Discussed are the significance of presents, crèches, nutcrackers, and what was used to decorate the trees. Tames also talks about the perils of holiday travel and how food played a major part in the celebrations. When people gathered to celebrate the holiday, there would be music, dancing, and the singing of carols. During this program, the audience will learn the history of and be encouraged to sing some traditional carols that were popular in this era.

AGE GROUP: All Ages,

TAGS: Activities & Games,

Milton/Edgewood

Phone: 253-548-3325

Opening hours
We're closed Monday January 21
Mon, Jan 21 Closed
(Martin Luther King Holiday)
Tue, Jan 22 11:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jan 23 11:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jan 24 11:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Jan 25 11:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jan 26 11:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jan 27 Closed

About the library

Upcoming events

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 23, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Jan 30, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Milton Meeting Room
Thu, Jan 31, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 06, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Milton Meeting Room
Thu, Feb 07, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Feb 09, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
This event is full

Tue, Feb 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 13, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Milton Meeting Room
Thu, Feb 14, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Milton Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 20, 11:30am - 12:30pm