close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Why Go Solo?

Registration now closed

Why Go Solo?

Tips and Advice for Solo Hiking in the PNW

2022-08-18 14:30:00 2022-08-18 15:30:00 America/Los_Angeles Why Go Solo? An exploration of what holds us back and what is to gain when we go into nature solo. Graham -

Thursday, August 18
2:30pm - 3:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-08-18 14:30:00 2022-08-18 15:30:00 America/Los_Angeles Why Go Solo? An exploration of what holds us back and what is to gain when we go into nature solo. Graham -

An exploration of what holds us back and what is to gain when we go into nature solo.

"Rugged Outdoors Woman" Christine Reed will be joining us on the Graham lawn to talk about her experiences hiking the Wonderland Trail, share her journey from sedentary office worker to outdoor enthusiast, and provide tips, advice, and encouragement for getting started with solo hiking and enjoying the great outdoors.  

Her recent memoir, Alone in Wonderland, was awarded the Indie National Excellence Award for Nonfiction.  Find out more at aloneinwonderland.com

The event will be outdoors. Participants should prepare for being in the sun or the current weather. In the event of inclement weather (excessive heat, smoke, rain, etc.) the event will be cancelled.

AGE GROUP: | Teens (13-18) | All Ages | Adults (18+) |

EVENT TYPE: | Author event |

Graham

Phone: 253-548-3322

Hours
Mon, Oct 03 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Tue, Oct 04 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Oct 05 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Oct 06 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Oct 07 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 08 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 09 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Upcoming events

Wed, Oct 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Graham Meeting Room
Bring your crafts and chat with other creative people in your community!

Thu, Oct 06, 10:30am - 11:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Enjoy stories, art activities, rhymes, singing and fingerplays.

Tue, Oct 11, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Graham Meeting Room
Share a book with a furry friend while improving your reading skills.

Thu, Oct 13, 10:30am - 11:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Enjoy stories, art activities, rhymes, singing and fingerplays.

Sat, Oct 15, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Come hang out, use our art supplies, learn a craft or creative skill, make friends, and have fun!

Thu, Oct 20, 10:30am - 11:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Enjoy stories, art activities, rhymes, singing and fingerplays.

Sat, Oct 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Join us for a hands-on story time hosted by Autism-Ready Libraries from the University of Washington! This story time includes experiences designed for children with sensory and learning differences.

Sat, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Graham Meeting Room
Learn how to access library eBooks on your personal device.

Tue, Oct 25, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Graham Meeting Room
Listen to a non-fiction book, then do fun activities exploring the topic!

Wed, Oct 26, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Graham Meeting Room
Drop-in at the Graham library for basic tech help with our Adult Services Librarian.

Thu, Oct 27, 10:30am - 11:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Enjoy stories, art activities, rhymes, singing and fingerplays.

Tue, Nov 01, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Graham Meeting Room
Drop-in information and legal assistance from experts at Tacomaprobono who will answer basic legal questions related to landlord-tenant and family law.

Wed, Nov 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Graham Meeting Room
Bring your crafts and chat with other creative people in your community!

Thu, Nov 03, 10:30am - 11:30am
Graham Meeting Room
Enjoy stories, art activities, rhymes, singing and fingerplays.